{Thursday Tales} The one(s) that will never get away

There is no doubt that it has been a tragic season for me and the ones that I truly love. We recently lost my beloved grandmother, and everybody knows how much of a light she is for us. With the most beautiful and warm welcoming smile she always paints on her face, she is surely going to be greatly missed. But as Mitch Albom puts it, “When someone is in your heart, they’re never truly gone.”


No matter how painful it is, I would like to believe that it was also Lola’s way for me to get to know more of my 2nd cousins and somehow bond with them. And although it was only for a short period of time, it was enlightening. They are the people who I used to see in some of the family gatherings but never had the chance to actually talk to and get to know better. The previous week was different. It was the last night of the wake when I had the chance to know their names. I felt embarrassed of how terrible of a cousin I am for not even knowing their real names. Pretty awesome people, if you ask me — no bias! It was a tad overwhelming knowing that I’ve been living under a rock and missing out on my cousins. They have the kindest hearts and legit are one of the most fun people I’ve ever met. Where have I been, really? The bad news here is that I never got to have a picture with them except this incomplete group photo of us with the bright full moon:

Processed with VSCO with kk1 preset
L-R: Pipay, Dave (1st cousin), Me, Jerico

Additionally, I was able to stay in Batangas for the rest of the long weekend. Sunday was the day I got to bond a little bit more with my first cousins in which we watched Wonder Woman, played at the arcade, and devoured some(-gyupsal) Korean food.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
L-R: Yuan, Dave, CJ, Ariane, Ate Alpha, Me
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Chang Su Chon’s Samgyupsal

I never intend to be selfish at this unfortunate time; but looking at the brighter side of life, it was kind of a blessing in disguise. Our Lola may have gone to another dimension of the universe, but she will never be forgotten and lost in our hearts. Especially that my cousins and I (and all the other family members) have each other and now closer than ever.


Love and light,
Prei

6 thoughts on “{Thursday Tales} The one(s) that will never get away

  1. Lose some, win some…life is made that way. However, I like to believe in Rumi’s wisdom: “Death has nothing to do with going away. The sun sets. The moon sets. But they are not gone.” Or maybe Kahlil Gibran’s “I am alive like you and I am standing beside you. Close your eyes and look around, you will see me in front of you.” Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

