{Movie Review} Le Petit Prince (The Little Prince)

img_9590


 

The Little Prince was originally a novel by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry in 1943. Although, the film was not a direct adaptation of the novel.

Synopsis: “A Little Girl (Mackenzie Foy) meets an eccentric old Aviator (Jeff Bridges) who tells her a fantastic tale about a young prince (Riley Osborne).” (Google)

This has become a personal favorite as I’ve been a big fan of the book ever since I’ve seen a copy at my uncle’s. I’ve had many attempts on reading it but failed everytime. Until last year, I finally decided to dig in the goodness. However, I was not able to finish and only able to reach 3/4 of the book. I promise to finish it, though, as soon as possible.

What made this film more interesting as its title already implies is that it was not a direct adaptation. The story started with a young girl and her mother carefully planning her future and growing up. It’s not that there’s something wrong with planning your future and all that, but the little girl didn’t have any friends. Playing and having fun were not in her schedule. Not in her future plan. Not until she met The Aviator. And I’ll stop there because I might just spill the beans completely.

Okay, I think the film was great. It was filled with cuteness, for a start. I kind of related to the little girl and her mom, because I’m a little bit excited for my future and to grow up but also I want to cherish the moments while I’m still young. There was just a part of the movie that I didn’t entirely approve of, maybe because it was so unexpected that the idea never crossed my mind. But all in all, I think it was a great movie and it just touched my heart. Very heartwarming, very inspiring. I recommend this to everybody.

Ratings:
7.8/10 · IMDb
95% · Rotten Tomatoes
70% · Metacritic


Love and Light,
Prei

Leave a Reply

