When you try to write but you just can’t

QoR8Bv1S2SEqH6UcSJCA_Tea


Is this what they call “writer’s block”? But it’s impossible, I’m not even a writer. For so long I’ve been trying so hard to write but I never liked the things I write. I always end up writing on my diary or journal or whatever you call it about the things that have been happening in my life lately and unfortunately, I don’t think it’s something worthy to be published. Or the way of my writing, at least.

I was never the poetic one. I never thought of profound words as the others do and I feel very disappointed in myself about that. To be honest, I’m an English major in one of the top universities in my country. I’ve always loved the language, but I know it shouldn’t stop there. I also like reading, though, and it should help me to actually write something significant. But no, I always end up writing something like this, something very personal, something so random that all these words just pop in my head right here, right now. I’ve always planned writing something meaningful and relatable, like the ones you see in the internet that they make you share them to social media and quote your favorite lines from the article.

However, I’ve always been willing to learn. They say that practice makes perfect and God knows how much I’ve been practicing to write. I feel lucky to have the fundamentals of writing as I am an English major and I know I have all the time to train myself and read as many articles as I can to improve my writing skills that are yet to be born. There are different topics to write about, but I can’t seem to pick one. In fact, I am overwhelmed with the wide range of ideas in my head that I can’t sort them out. Maybe that’s what my problem really is. I just don’t know what to do with them. I believe this is “writer’s block”.

I know I still have a long way to go when it comes to writing, but I just want to share this feeling with the other writer-wannabe’s out there. Perhaps this isn’t “writer’s block,” because I happened to write about all of this. I am more than willing to talk about this kind of problem with anyone, it’s just that my friends never had this one. I don’t know if it’s just me, but I swear this is a big deal that actually has to be dealt with. I’m ending here, and I will try to solve this problem of mine.

Love and light,
Prei

2 thoughts on “When you try to write but you just can’t

  1. This is a very common problem among writers. in my opinion there are two necessary elements to write a piece, first an idea, second a muse. every piece should have an idea behind it a philosophy, choose any topic you like and start researching about it, for example world war I, when you gather enough data like time lines, historical events, important characters, you can start creating what you want, fiction or non fiction, always remember you can write what ever you want, it’s a world that you’re creating and the reader steps into your world and not vice versa, for the muse part, choose something that gives you a sense of calmness with creativity,the love of your life, a beautiful scenery, music, another authors work, try not take it very hard, but have some logic behind each word you write, start with some poems or short stories , that could help.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

